Indies Introduce Interview

21 Feb

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Soyoung Park

"This young adult science fiction novel set in a fully realized world is at once enthralling and abhorrent. To say I loved this book would be an understatement," said Paul Swydan of The Silver Unicorn Bookstore in Acton, Massachusetts.

Read More
07 Feb

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Nedda Lewers

"Lewers’ debut is a magical tale of what happens when a logical science-minded kid encounters things she can’t explain," said Andi Richardson of The Fountain Bookstore in Richmond, Virginia.

Read More
07 Feb

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Scott Alexander Howard

“There are few wounds that cut as deeply as regret, and Scott Alexander Howard captures that pain and yearning beautifully," said Melissa Sagendorph of Harvard Book Store in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Read More
24 Jan

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Tony Keith, Jr.

“This affirming memoir, written in verse, walks the reader through the beautiful journey of being honest with yourself and fostering community. This book is for anyone trying to put the puzzle pieces of their life together, but feel like they are missing just one piece,” said Maryan Liban of Cover to Cover Books for Young Readers in Columbus, Ohio.

Read More
17 Jan

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Ray Xu

"Ray Xu delights in this graphic memoir about immigration, family, and fitting in in middle school," said Andi Richardson of Fountain Bookstore in Richmond, Virginia.

Read More
03 Jan

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Carolina Ixta

"This book broke me and put me back together in the best of ways," said Erin Rivera of The Frugal Frigate in Redlands, California.

Read More
13 Dec

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Megan Lally

"That’s Not My Name is binge reading at its finest. Megan Lally has crafted incredible characters, intriguing twists, and bombshell revelations. You are not prepared for this book…and that is what makes it so great," said Molly Olivo of Child’s Play Toys & Books in Washington, DC.

Read More
13 Dec

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Vanessa Chan

"The Storm We Made shines a light on the brutality of war, the pain of occupation and the resilience of survivors," said Paula Farmer of Book Passage in Corte Madera, California.

Read More
25 Oct

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Rhonda Roumani

“A great introduction into social activism and using your voice in a positive way,” said Susan Reckers of Rakestraw Books in Danville, California.

Read More
11 Oct

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Christina Wyman

"Both funny and moving, and including real-life relatable family issues, this features the humor of Jeff Kinney but with the social themes of Gordon Korman,” said Gerard Villegas of Auntie’s Bookstore in Spokane, Washington.

Read More
13 Sep

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Hannah V. Sawyerr

"An intense, beautiful YA novel in verse, highly recommended for fans of Jason Reynolds and Elizabeth Acevedo," said Talia Smart of Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Read More
13 Sep

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Thushanthi Ponweera

I Am Kavi author Thushanthi Ponweera sits down with Liz Decker of Caprichos Books in Ocean Pines, Maryland, to discuss her debut title. 

Read More
06 Sep

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Page Powars

"Filled with plenty of humorous and laugh-out loud antics, this book is sure to sweep you off your feet. The characters are authentic and complex as they all try to fit into high school as well as figuring out who they are," said Jody Hardy of Mostly Books in Tucson, Arizona.

Read More
16 Aug

An Indies Introduce Q&A with Megan Kamalei Kakimoto

Every Drop is a Man’s Nightmare is a wholly immersive collection of short stories — the smell of the ocean and plumeria, with an undercurrent of loneliness and anger, lingers in the air. Cut away the colonialist, haole lens, and embrace the haunting brutality and beauty of contemporary Hawaiian life,” said Christine Bollow of Loyalty Bookstores in Washington, DC, and Silver Spring, MD. 

Read More
26 Jul

A Q&A with Emily Habeck, Indies Introduce Author of the August Indie Next List Top Pick “Shark Heart”

“This beautiful and heartbreaking story explores the power of love, grief, and taking those first steps towards moving on,” said Beth Seufer Buss of Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Read More

Pages

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

PRESS INQUIRIES: [email protected]

INDIECOMMERCE: [email protected]

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: [email protected]

 

 

Copyright 2024 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement