Indie Next List Interview

28 Sep
Celeste Ng, author of Our Missing Hearts

A Q&A With Celeste Ng, Author of October Indie Next List Top Pick “Our Missing Hearts”

"Ng wrestles with how to find hope for ourselves and our children against forces that bend toward authoritarianism and nationalism," said Allyson Howard of Invitation Bookshop in Gig Harbor, Washington.

Read More
07 Sep
The Door of No Return Hardcover by Kwame Alexander

A Q&A with Kwame Alexander, Author of September/October Kids’ Indie Next List Top Pick “The Door of No Return”

“Kwame Alexander will break your heart in half the words other authors might need,” said Gwen Papp of Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Read More
24 Aug
Love On The Brain by Ali Hazelwood

A Q&A With Ali Hazelwood, Author of September Indie Next List Top Pick “Love on the Brain”

“With expert pacing, witty humor, and loveable characters, Love on the Brain is this fall’s hot romantic comedy!” said Stefanie Lynn of The Kennett Bookhouse in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.

Read More
27 Jul
Jamie Ford, Author of The Many Daughters of Afong Moy

A Q&A With Jamie Ford, Author of August Indie Next List Top Pick “The Many Daughters of Afong Moy”

“The descendants of Afong Moy dig into their inherited pasts with astonishing results. A hopeful, beautiful read!” said Beth Mynhier of Lake Forest Book Store in Lake Forest, Illinois

Read More
06 Jul
Melissa Albert’s Our Crooked Hearts

A Q&A with Melissa Albert, Author of July/August Kids’ Indie Next List Top Pick “Our Crooked Hearts”

“Two storylines — past and present — converge into one when a mother’s past mistakes come back to hunt her daughter,” said Megan Irland of The River's End Bookstore in Oswego, New York.

Read More
29 Jun
Gabrielle Zevin, Author of July Indie Next List Top Pick Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

A Q&A With Gabrielle Zevin, Author of July Indie Next List Top Pick “Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow”

“I am deeply mourning finishing this book. Zevin has masterfully created a love story for friendship that will stay with me,” said Vina Castillo of Kew & Willow Books in Kew Gardens, New York.

Read More
25 May
This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub

A Q&A With Emma Straub, Author of June Indie Next List Top Pick "This Time Tomorrow"

“This is the perfect blend of heartbreak and heartfelt laughter that we could all use a dose of right now,” said Javier Ramirez of Exile in Bookville in Chicago, Illinois.

Read More
04 May
Casey McQuiston author of I Kissed Shara Wheeler

A Q&A with Casey McQuiston, Author of May/June Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "I Kissed Shara Wheeler"

“If you love scavenger hunts, runaway prom queens, Taco Bell, and young queer self-discovery, this is your book!” said Julia DeVarti of Books Are Magic.

Read More
27 Apr
Book Lovers by Emily Henry
30 Mar
Emily St. John Mandel, Author of #1 April Indie Next List Top Pick

A Q&A With Emily St. John Mandel, Author of April Indie Next List Top Pick "Sea of Tranquility"

“A gem of a novel, spiraling out of place and time to shape our present hopes and anxieties into a story of peace and resilience,” said Dan Brewster of Prologue Bookshop.

Read More
02 Mar
March/April Kids' Indie Next List Pick

A Q&A with V.E. Schwab, Author of March/April Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Gallant"

“A dark fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Melissa Albert. Not one to miss!” said Matilda McNeely of Little Shop of Stories.

Read More
23 Feb
Rebecca Serle’s One Italian Summer
28 Jan
Love & Saffron by Kim Fay

A Q&A With Kim Fay, Author of February Indie Next List Top Pick "Love & Saffron"

“I loved the simplicity of this book — it filled my heart with love and connection to the human spirit,” said Annette Avery of Bright Side Bookshop.

Read More
19 Jan
Hanya Yanagihara’s To Paradise: A Novel

A Q&A With Hanya Yanagihara, Author of January's Top Indie Next List Pick

“Expansive, wholly original, and utterly engrossing,” said Christine Bollow of Loyalty Bookstore in Washington, DC. 

Read More
12 Jan
Ain't Burned All the Bright by Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin

Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin on January/February 2022 Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Ain't Burned All the Bright"

“If there’s ever been a person to write about our times — Black Lives Matter, conflict, COVID — it’s Jason Reynolds,” said Melissa Fox of Watermark Books & Café.

Read More

Pages

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

MEMBER and MEMBERSHIP INQUIRIES: info@bookweb.org

PRESS INQUIRIES: ray@bookweb.org

INDIECOMMERCE: staff@bookweb.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: info@BookWeb.org

 

 

Copyright 2022 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement