Indie Next List Interview

25 May
This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub

A Q&A With Emma Straub, Author of June Indie Next List Top Pick "This Time Tomorrow"

“This is the perfect blend of heartbreak and heartfelt laughter that we could all use a dose of right now,” said Javier Ramirez of Exile in Bookville in Chicago, Illinois.

Read More
04 May
Casey McQuiston author of I Kissed Shara Wheeler

A Q&A with Casey McQuiston, Author of May/June Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "I Kissed Shara Wheeler"

“If you love scavenger hunts, runaway prom queens, Taco Bell, and young queer self-discovery, this is your book!” said Julia DeVarti of Books Are Magic.

Read More
27 Apr
Book Lovers by Emily Henry
30 Mar
Emily St. John Mandel, Author of #1 April Indie Next List Top Pick

A Q&A With Emily St. John Mandel, Author of April Indie Next List Top Pick "Sea of Tranquility"

“A gem of a novel, spiraling out of place and time to shape our present hopes and anxieties into a story of peace and resilience,” said Dan Brewster of Prologue Bookshop.

Read More
02 Mar
March/April Kids' Indie Next List Pick

A Q&A with V.E. Schwab, Author of March/April Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Gallant"

“A dark fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Melissa Albert. Not one to miss!” said Matilda McNeely of Little Shop of Stories.

Read More
23 Feb
Rebecca Serle’s One Italian Summer
28 Jan
Love & Saffron by Kim Fay

A Q&A With Kim Fay, Author of February Indie Next List Top Pick "Love & Saffron"

“I loved the simplicity of this book — it filled my heart with love and connection to the human spirit,” said Annette Avery of Bright Side Bookshop.

Read More
19 Jan
Hanya Yanagihara’s To Paradise: A Novel

A Q&A With Hanya Yanagihara, Author of January's Top Indie Next List Pick

“Expansive, wholly original, and utterly engrossing,” said Christine Bollow of Loyalty Bookstore in Washington, DC. 

Read More
12 Jan
Ain't Burned All the Bright by Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin

Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin on January/February 2022 Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Ain't Burned All the Bright"

“If there’s ever been a person to write about our times — Black Lives Matter, conflict, COVID — it’s Jason Reynolds,” said Melissa Fox of Watermark Books & Café.

Read More
18 Nov
Claire Keegan, author of Small Things Like These

Claire Keegan on December Indie Next List Top Pick “Small Things Like These”

“Keegan captures the extraordinary courage required to live an ordinary life," John Lynn of The Kennett Bookhouse in Kennett Square, Pennsylvania. 

Read More
25 Oct
Margaret Rogerson, author of Vespertine

Margaret Rogerson on November/December Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Vespertine"

Vespertine is my latest obsession,” said Chelsea Stringfield of Parnassus Books in Nashville, Tennessee. 

Read More
22 Oct
Nathaniel Ian Miller, author of The Memoirs of Stockholm Sven

Nathaniel Ian Miller on November Indie Next List Top Pick "The Memoirs of Stockholm Sven"

“Wow, what a book,” said Jessica Williams-Sullivan of Politics and Prose Bookstore in Washington, D.C.

Read More
14 Sep
Anthony Doerr, author of Cloud Cuckoo Land

Anthony Doerr on October Indie Next List Pick "Cloud Cuckoo Land"

“I haven’t felt this hopeful after closing a book in a very long time,” said Julie Slavinsky of Warwick’s.

Read More
16 Aug
Kate DiCamillo, author of The Beatryce Prophecy

Kate DiCamillo on September/October Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "The Beatryce Prophecy"

“Kate DiCamillo weaves a medieval tale that reads like a classic fable,” said Julie Jarema of Avid Bookshop.

Read More
16 Aug
Lauren Groff, author of Matrix

Lauren Groff on September Indie Next List Top Pick "Matrix"

“Lauren Groff has created an incredibly powerful portrait of the compelling Marie de France, banished to 12th-century England to live in a failing abbey,” said Rosanna Nissen of Barrett Bookstore.

Read More

Pages

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

MEMBER and MEMBERSHIP INQUIRIES: info@bookweb.org

PRESS INQUIRIES: ray@bookweb.org

INDIECOMMERCE: staff@bookweb.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: info@BookWeb.org

 

 

Copyright 2022 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement