Children’s Bookselling

07 Sep
The Door of No Return Hardcover by Kwame Alexander

A Q&A with Kwame Alexander, Author of September/October Kids’ Indie Next List Top Pick “The Door of No Return”

“Kwame Alexander will break your heart in half the words other authors might need,” said Gwen Papp of Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Read More
10 Aug
The Door of No Return by Kwame Alexander

September/October 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List Preview

Here is a preview of the titles on the September/October 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List flier, arriving at stores in the upcoming Kids’ Box mailing.

Read More
13 Jul
Where's Waldo at Brick & Mortar Books

Bookstores Take on Find Waldo Local 2022

This July, independent bookstores are dedicating displays and hiding spots for the beloved bespectacled character, Waldo.

Read More
06 Jul
Melissa Albert’s Our Crooked Hearts

A Q&A with Melissa Albert, Author of July/August Kids’ Indie Next List Top Pick “Our Crooked Hearts”

“Two storylines — past and present — converge into one when a mother’s past mistakes come back to hunt her daughter,” said Megan Irland of The River's End Bookstore in Oswego, New York.

Read More
15 Jun
Jessica Stauffer and Gen de Botton Ci6 costume party

Guess ABA’s Costumes for the Children’s Institute Costume Party!

ABA staff are putting the finishing touches on their costumes for the 10th Children’s Institute Costume Party, which all attendees are encouraged to participate in.

Read More
08 Jun
KNL July/August 2022 Preview

July/August 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List Preview

Here is a preview of the titles on the July/August 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List flier, arriving at stores in the upcoming Kids’ Box mailing.

Read More
04 May
Casey McQuiston author of I Kissed Shara Wheeler

A Q&A with Casey McQuiston, Author of May/June Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "I Kissed Shara Wheeler"

“If you love scavenger hunts, runaway prom queens, Taco Bell, and young queer self-discovery, this is your book!” said Julia DeVarti of Books Are Magic.

Read More
13 Apr
Kids' Next List Preview for May/June 2022

May/June 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List Preview

Here is a preview of the titles on the May/June 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List flier, arriving at stores in the upcoming Kids’ Box mailing.

Read More
02 Mar
March/April Kids' Indie Next List Pick

A Q&A with V.E. Schwab, Author of March/April Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Gallant"

“A dark fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Melissa Albert. Not one to miss!” said Matilda McNeely of Little Shop of Stories.

Read More
07 Feb
The March/April Kids Indie Next List Preview

March/April 2022 Kids' Indie Next List Preview

Here is a preview of the titles on the March/April 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List flier, arriving at stores in the upcoming Kids’ Box mailing.

Read More
12 Jan
Ain't Burned All the Bright by Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin

Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin on January/February 2022 Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Ain't Burned All the Bright"

“If there’s ever been a person to write about our times — Black Lives Matter, conflict, COVID — it’s Jason Reynolds,” said Melissa Fox of Watermark Books & Café.

Read More
06 Dec
January/February Kids' Indie Next List

January/February 2022 Kids' Indie Next List Preview

Here is a preview of the titles on the January/February 2022 Kids’ Indie Next List flier, arriving at stores in the upcoming Kids’ Box mailing.

Read More
25 Oct
Margaret Rogerson, author of Vespertine

Margaret Rogerson on November/December Kids' Indie Next List Top Pick "Vespertine"

Vespertine is my latest obsession,” said Chelsea Stringfield of Parnassus Books in Nashville, Tennessee. 

Read More
20 Oct
ABC Children's Catalog 2021 Best Books

Integrate the ABC Best Books for Young Readers Catalog With Your IndieCommerce Site

This is a simple way to share the ABC catalog in newsletters and social media posts.

Read More

Pages

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

MEMBER and MEMBERSHIP INQUIRIES: info@bookweb.org

PRESS INQUIRIES: ray@bookweb.org

INDIECOMMERCE: staff@bookweb.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: info@BookWeb.org

 

 

Copyright 2022 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement