BTW News Briefs

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

BookExpo Audio Publishers Association Author Tea Lineup Announced

Four bestselling authors will take the stage to discuss their craft, creativity, and inspiration at the Audio Publishers Association Author Tea on Friday, June 2, at BookExpo 2017.

The event will feature Emmy Award-winning actor and director Alan Alda (If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on my Face?, Penguin Random House Audio) as host, along with James Patterson (Crazy House, Hachette Audio), Marissa Meyer (Renegades, Macmillan Audio), and Daniel José Older (Shadowhouse Fall, Scholastic Audio). 

The tea will be held from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, June 2, in Room 1E07/08 of the Javits Convention Center.

The APA Author Tea is a separately ticketed event. For more information or to register for BookExpo, visit

Reading Without Walls Activity Guide Available

Downloadable materials, including a detailed activity guide, are currently available on the Macmillan Children’s website to help schools, libraries, and bookstores celebrate Reading Without Walls Month, which asks young people to explore the world through diverse books.

National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Gene Luen Yang has called on young readers to join the very first Reading Without Walls challenge, which asks them to read a book about a character that is unlike themselves in some way; read a book about a topic they don’t know about; or read a book in a format that they don’t normally read.

Reading Without Walls Month, which will take place annually starting in April 2017, was created through partnership between the Children’s Book Council, the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, and Every Child a Reader, as well as Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.

To register and learn more, visit

Ingram Content Group Adds Two to Leadership Team

Ingram Content Group is welcoming two new executives to the company’s leadership team: Kelly Arnold as chief legal officer and Deanna Steele as chief information technology officer.

Arnold comes to Ingram from U.S. Xpress Enterprises in Chattanooga, Tennessee, where she served as executive vice president and general counsel. Previously, Arnold held numerous legal roles at The Dow Chemical Company.

Steele will lead Ingram Content Group’s technology innovation, which includes overseeing all of the IT operations and Ingram strategies as a technology services company. She most recently served as group vice president, IT – brands/brands divisional CIO at Ascena Retail Group in Columbus, Ohio.

Americanah Chosen for One Book, One New York

New Yorkers have voted Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah (Knopf) the winner of the One Book, One New York program. Over the next several months, the novel will be read and discussed throughout the five boroughs of New York City.

Beginning in March, Penguin Random House, the book’s publisher, will donate 1,000 copies of Americanah to New York City’s three public library systems.

A series of free events based on the novel’s themes of immigration, feminism, and race will begin in April. A full list and schedule of events are available on the Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment’s website.

One Book, One New York was organized by the mayor’s office in partnership with BuzzFeed. Starting in February, New York City residents were asked to vote on one of five novels to read: AmericanahThe Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz (Riverhead), Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (Spiegel & Grau), A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith (Harper), and The Sellout by Paul Beatty (Farrar, Straus and Giroux).

2016 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Announced

The National Book Critics Circle has named the recipients of its annual book awards, which honor outstanding writing and aim to foster a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature.

The National Book Critics Circle is comprised of more than 700 critics and editors from leading newspapers, magazines, and online publications. Founded in 1974, the NBCC awards are open to any book published in the United States in English, including books in translation.

The winners for the publishing year 2016 were announced on March 16 at a ceremony at the New School in New York City. In addition to this year’s winners, which included Margaret Atwood, Yaa Gyasi, Louise Erdrich, and Matthew Desmond, the NBCC also announced the first recipients of its Emerging Critics Fellowship, a new initiative that aspires to support the development of the next generation of book critics.

To see all of this year’s award winners, visit the NBCC website.

Publishing Triangle Reveals Award Finalists

The Publishing Triangle has announced the finalists for its annual awards, honoring the best LGBTQ fiction, nonfiction, and poetry published in 2016, as well as the year’s best trans and gender-variant literature.

In 1989, The Publishing Triangle, an association representing LGBTQ people in publishing, began honoring a gay or lesbian writer for his or her body of work, and has since partnered with the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards to present a wide array of awards each spring, including the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry, the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction, and the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction. This year, for the first time, the association will present the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award, a prize for an LGBTQ writer who has published at least one book but not more than two.

The awards will be presented on April 27 at the New School in New York City. To see all of the finalists, visit the Publishing Triangle website.

Romance Writers of America RITA and Golden Heart Finalists Named

Romance Writers of America (RWA) has announced the finalists for the 2017 RITA and Golden Heart Awards.

The trade association for romance fiction authors’ RITA award recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas. The Golden Heart recognizes excellence in unpublished romance manuscripts.

The winners will be announced July 27 at the 2017 RWA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida. Visit the RWA website to see all the finalists.