Booksellers Encouraged to Cast Ballots for Book of the Year

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The owners and staff of all ABA member bookstores can now vote for the 2006 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards. Presented to the authors of independent booksellers' handselling favorites in the categories of Adult Fiction, Adult Nonfiction, Children's Literature, and Children's Illustrated, the awards are a highlight of BookExpo America.

The ballot for the 2006 awards includes titles appearing on the 2005 Book Sense Picks lists. In addition, there is space for write-ins in each category. Only books published in 2005 are eligible.

The title receiving the most votes in each category will be designated the Book Sense Book of the Year. The next four titles with the highest number of votes in each category will be designated Book Sense Honor Books.

Winners and honor books will be announced in late March, and their authors will be invited to attend the Book Sense Author Luncheon and the Celebration of Bookselling at this year's BEA in Washington, D.C.

Everyone working at an ABA member store is encouraged to vote, but only one ballot per person will be accepted. Ballots, online at, may be downloaded or submitted electronically. In addition, stores with Book Sense will receive ballots in the January and February Red and White Box mailings.

Online voting is open until midnight on February 28. Ballots sent via regular mail must be postmarked by February 21 and received at ABA (BSBY at ABA/Book Sense, 200 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, New York 10591) by February 28. Ballots can also be faxed to (914) 591-2720 until midnight on the 28th.