Book of the Year Balloting Continues

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

February 28 is the deadline for ballots for the 2006 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards, which will be presented at the American Booksellers Association's Celebration of Bookselling at BookExpo America in May in Washington, D.C. The owners and staff of all ABA member bookstores are eligible to vote, and ballots may be cast through a convenient online form or by paper ballot.

The awards honor independent booksellers' handselling favorites in the categories of Adult Fiction, Adult Nonfiction, Children's Literature, and Children's Illustrated. The ballot includes titles appearing on the 2005 Book Sense Picks lists. In addition, there is space for write-ins in each category. Only books published in 2005 are eligible. The title receiving the most votes in each category will be designated the Book Sense Book of the Year. The next four titles with the highest number of votes in each category will be designated Book Sense Honor Books.

Winners and honor books will be announced in late March, and their authors will be invited to attend the Book Sense Author Luncheon and the Celebration of Bookselling.

Online voting and ballots faxed to (914) 591-2720 will be accepted until midnight on February 28. Ballots sent via regular mail must be postmarked by February 21 and received at ABA (BSBY at ABA/Book Sense, 200 White Plains Road, Tarrytown, New York 10591) by February 28. Everyone working at an ABA member store is encouraged to vote, but only one ballot per person will be accepted.