ABA Committee on Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The overall mission of the ABA Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council (DEIC) is:

  • To serve as a sounding board and advisory council on issues of diversity, equity, inclusion, representation, and access facing the bookselling community and ABA;
  • To participate in additional ABA task forces or meetings to provide feedback about ABA programs and services as they are being developed, as needed;
  • To review existing ABA programs and services and to make recommendations to the ABA staff and Board of Directors as to how these programs and services can be made more effective;
  • To offer suggestions to help ABA improve programs and services and to better serve diverse communities;
  • To help identify and respond to emerging threats and opportunities to antiracism, equity, representation, inclusion, and access in the industry; and
  • To bring concerns of booksellers and bookstore owners to the ABA staff and Board and assist ABA with its commitment to antiracism, inclusion, representation, access, and diversity.

 
Members are welcome to contact members of the DEIC directly with questions, comments, or concerns in support of antiracism, equity, inclusion, access, and representation in the book industry. Members can also fill out this form (coming soon) to bring matters to ABA’s attention anonymously.
 
Bookseller Committee Members
 
Luis Correa
Avid Bookshop
Athens, Georgia
luis@avidbookshop.com
 
Paula Farmer
Book Passage
San Francisco, California
paula.farmer@bookpassage.com
 
Lee Francis
Red Planet Books and Comics
Albuquerque, New Mexico
redplanet@redplanetbnc.com
 
Morgan Haywood-Joy
Greenlight Bookstore
Brooklyn, New York
morgan@greenlightbookstore.com
 
Rosa Hernandez
Third Place Books
Lake Forest Park, Washington
rhernandez@thirdplacebooks.com
 
Derek Holland
Tattered Cover Book Store
Denver, Colorado
derek.holland@tatteredcover.com
 
Sarah Hollenbeck
Women & Children First
Chicago, Illinois
sarah@womenandchildrenfirst.com
 
Audrey Huang
Belmont Books
Belmont, Massachusetts
aiweihuang@yahoo.com
 
Candice Huber
Tubby & Coo’s Mid-City Book Shop
New Orleans, Louisiana
owner@tubbyandcoos.com
 
Melanie Knight
Books Inc. 
Berkeley, California
mknight@booksinc.net
 
Amanda Kranias
Blue Manatee Literacy Project
Cincinnati, Ohio
amanda@bluemanatee.org
 
Michelle Malonzo
Changing Hands
Tempe, Arizona
michelle@changinghands.com
 
American Booksellers Association Staff Committee Members

Allison K. Hill
CEO
allisonhill@bookweb.org
 
PK Sindwani
CFO
pk@bookweb.org
 
María Rodriguez
Meetings & Planning Coordinator
maria@bookweb.org
 
 

About ABA

The American Booksellers Association, a national not-for-profit trade organization, works with booksellers and industry partners to ensure the success and profitability of independently owned book retailers, and to assist in expanding the community of the book.

Independent bookstores act as community anchors; they serve a unique role in promoting the open exchange of ideas, enriching the cultural life of communities, and creating economically vibrant neighborhoods.

Contact

PRESS CONTACT: Dan Cullen (dan@bookweb.org)

MEMBER and MEMBERSHIP INQUIRIES: info@bookweb.org

INDIECOMMERCE: staff@bookweb.org

ALL OTHER INQUIRIES: info@BookWeb.org

 

 

Copyright 2019 American Booksellers Association. BookWeb is a registered trademark of ABA.
Privacy Policy, Cookie Policy, Accessibility Statement